A PILGRIM’S PROGRESS..

Assalamu Alaikum,
Once I visited the shrine of Khwaja Bande Nawaz (May Allah Sanctify His secret) at Gulbarga, India with my Usthad and Shaykh. The shrine was built by a king as his present to Khwaja in his lifetime itself. The journey, I later understood, was a lesson for the journey towards Allah. I found that men there are mainly of three categories.

The shrine is painted white outside. There’s nothing so great from outside to attract many people here. It’s just a BIG white building. People may turn away without any real admiration.I call these people as first category people.
Once inside, you wont be able to stop gazing around!! Apart from the architectural beauty, every inch-around, up and down- full of calligraphic decorations. All pearls from Qur’an and Hadith presented in beautiful paintings..
You are suddenly taken to some wonderland! Immaculate!! You are stuck with it..
I put such people under secondary category.
BUT, my Usthad would warn,”We are not here to enjoy the decorations. We came all the way with the sole intention of spending some time in the company of our Forefather (in faith)”. These are the third category who achieve the true aim.

Here in lies a perfect parable for tasawwuf..
When looked from outside, tasawwuf might appear dull. One will not get any taste of it just by looking from outside. He may even oppose it. They are the first category.

But once you get inside, Lo!! Full of surprises, full of pleasing, jaw dropping discoveries.. Lot’s of knowledge. Until inside, one might not have ever noticed that Qur’an could have this big, profound meanings. Never thought Hadith could be this relevent.. The traditions of saints were never this charming..
BUT am I here for that?!
If my question appear weird, let me make it clear..Many people are caught in this fanciful play with Ayaths, Hadith and Sufi poetries.. Just start talking big things about Allah, I’m readily accepted everywhere!! I too think I’m now somewhat good!! Deep inside, I’m ‘enjoying’ the status of being a special aalim. I’m pleasing my Nafs!! Strictly opposite to being humble in the presence of Allah!!
What about my personal relationship with Him? Is it there, or am I cheating myrself by talking loud? Am I one of the second category who, though very close, were denied of real success.

Then there is the third category who look for and achieve Allah Himself..
They are not cheated by glitters..
Ilm (knowledge) is just one of His attributes. He is more than that.. How far will one go by fiddling with one’s “stock” of knowledge?

Alhamdulillah.. I’m extremely privileged to get an Usthad who warns me “We are not here to enjoy the decorations. We came all the way with the sole intention of spending some time in the company of our Forefather ”.

May Allah Bless Him with every blessings and make us all as He wishes..

8 Responses

  1. assalamu alikum..
    Alhamdulillah!, i would have gone and end up in real mistake, if i would not have read this, because, for the last few days i have been ‘preaching’with an understanding that i ‘know everything ‘ than others regearding allah. I was inside the pit of decorations of ‘ilm(knowledge)’ but not checking my inner with seriousness, than the inner of others.

    Reading this article, alhamdulillah, i came to understand where i was going, and where i have to.

    Thank you Muneerka for your guidance. May Allah continue His blessings to all of us for ever…

  2. assalamu alaikum,

    Alhamdulillah!, i would have gone and end up in real mistake, if i would not have read this, because, for the last few days i have been ‘preaching’with an understanding that i ‘know everything ‘ than others regearding allah. I was inside the pit of decorations of ‘ilm(knowledge)’ but not checking my inner with seriousness, than the inner of others.

    Reading this article, alhamdulillah, i came to understand where i was going, and where i have to.

    Thank you Muneerka for your guidance.

    May Allah continue His blessings to all of us for ever…

  3. Va Alaikumussalam my dear Shibily..

    When I get to know that Allah chose me to guide you to Him, Ahh…
    I dance in my Luck..
    Allah disarms us with His Love..

  4. SubhanAllah, i agree with everything you written.

    I was thinking of posing your thoughts on sunniforum.com, if you dont mind, if you wish, you may join and post it there, its very useful.

  5. Salaam Ibnziad,
    May Allah bless you for your kind words. If you think the articles on this post will benefit someone, you are free to quote it.

  6. Assalaam Alaikum br. Muneer,

    Priceless teaching….
    Very insightful and thought-provoking post!
    And thanks for the great reminder of my visit to the shrine, many many years ago. Alhamdulillah!

    Jazaak Allah Khair,
    sf

  7. i am so happy you are writing. you could probably help bring about a difference. i am really glad on seeing your writings.

    i actually feel like thanking god, that something like this also exists. ameen

  8. from the reading of your blog the first time to – today, from the time where i thought you could make a difference to the time where i think you did make the difference,

    like the bird in this blog https://abdulmuneer.wordpress.com/2006/11/29/subhanallah/ i have been feeding on your wonderful thoughts and even this simple rice tasted more beautiful than the tastiest of shahi pulav’s or kormas

    thank you for the wonderful feast.

    may Allah bless you and your family- may the Duas of all the people you touch the hearts of, ‘with your blogs reach you and keep you happy, in the now and the here-after. Ameen

    warm regards rubina.

Leave a Reply

