GIBRAN AND SHEPHERDS OF THE VALLEY..

Assalamu Alaikum,

Khalil Gibran is one of my favorite poets. Before meeting my Usthad I had gone through ‘The Prophet’ more than a dozen times and i had almost learned it by heart. Those days, it offered me the highest level of philosophy. Within a short span my relationship with Usthad had gone stronger. Then later I again checked Gibran. But this time he was not any one for me to look up! It was not as great as I thought before!

It made me realize the power of Islam. Nothing shall stand up to it. Islam gives me vision and insight of which Gibran’s philosophy is no match. I have found it true in the case my fellow travellers too. Many of my friends had no exposure to literature or philosophy. They were not deep thinkers either. But lo!,once they get into the hands of my Shaykh, once they get to know their Rabb they just get elevated! I now know why the educated high society ‘gentle’men of that ‘jahiliyya’ period couldn’t digest the standard to which illiterate Sahaba of Rasool(S.A.), who were just shepherds of the valley, were raised!

I myself have often wondered about the pace at which my fellow travellers were growing. They suddenly start talking Qur’an with authority. They don’t say, “..so has Allah spoken in Qur’an” like ordinary people who do it to conceal their own lack of conviction. Instead they say. “it is like this..” because now they are seeing the things mentioned in Qur’an on their own. Those who don’t have conviction wiil have to quote from paper! Those who see Allah don’t have to..They only need to give the commentary of what they see.

This is a magic Islam pulls on its people. It expands our heart. Earlier I watched all hollywood movies.Later once again I succumbed to the temptation of watching a thriller but it didn’t thrill me at all! I had changed even without my notice!! Before meeting Usthad for the first time, I’d just finished Stephen R. Covey’s best-seller 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. He had stated something about our ‘I’dentity which fascinated me. It was something like”We are more than body and mind” etc. I would talk about these things as the Ultimate description of ourselves to Usthad. Usthad’s reply would leave my jaws dropped. Islam is vast and comprehensive..

If we truly get into our religion, no philosophy or thoughts will be bigger than our (not ours but islam’s) thoughts and vision. No science will take us to bigger discoveries.The illiterate, barbarian Arabs started talking about a knowledge which the ‘educated’ Arabs found beyond their power of comprehension.

2 Responses

  1. How true are you words brother. At a certain point on the path, all else that the world cherishes seems silly and futile. Only HU, only the Beloved is on our eyes and heart.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. Assalamu alaikum, muneerka

    i also feel the same now. There was a time for me, when i was ‘glued’ to the immediate pleasures. But my shaikh showed me ‘what real pleasure is’. Once he made me taste that sweet, i rejoiced and came to peace with that.

    May Allah sustain that peace in me for ever, and may He help to convey what He gave to me to others also..

Leave a Reply

