THE TASTE OF IT..

Assalamu Alaikum..

Abu Yazid [Al-Bistami], may Allah be well pleased with him, said: I was
for twelve years the blacksmith of my ego, then
for five years I became the mirror of my heart, then
for a year I looked at what lay between the two of them and I saw
around me a visible belt. So I strove to cut it for
twelve years and then looked again, and I saw around me a hidden belt.
So I worked to cut it for five years, looking to see how to
cut. Then it was unveiled for me and I looked at creation
and saw that they were all dead. So I recited the funeral prayer
over them.”

What the Great Shaykh is talking about cannot be fully understood by ourselves. The more striking point here is that it is his travelogue. Every traveller will have something to tell. And those who have read those travelogues too will start saying same things.. But are they same?

I taste a candy and tell “it is sweet”. You start learning my book and convinces yourself that the candy (which you haven’t tasted yet) is indeed sweet! What use? Will you get any taste of it? Go ahead and – at least for once – taste it. Then You’ll know what I mean when I say” this candy is sweet”. Earlier also, upon hearing my words, you were sure that the candy was sweet. You had 100% faith in my words. But now that you have tasted, you have a new understanding. Now also you are sure that the candy is sweet. But is it same as the earlier one? For this reason Allah tells us in Qur’an,”Ya Ayyuhalladeena Aamanoo Aaminoo Billahi Va Rasoolihi” (O believers, Believe in Allah and Rasool!). Bayazid Bistami(R.A.) took his path with great dedication. We can learn so much from it. But we will gain nothing unless we too start travelling. Allah asks us “Fafirroo ilallah”(You come to Allah running)..

3 Responses

  1. For thirty-four years, Bayazid struggled on path, and because of his devotion, what is Real was made known to him. The two belts, one visible and one hidden, is an excellent analogy of the ego’s ties to this world, and even when you think you have cut the ties, the ego is a trickster and brings you back to self. Alhamdulillah, that Allah brings His lovers to Him at last.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. assalamu alaikum,

    Of course, muneerka!

    The taste is something different from what we are learning. The teachings or the words are just the ‘vehicles’ which guide us to what is actually needed.
    No body can explain what ‘sight’ is in words. It is something that can only be felt. Similarly the ‘Hidayath’ also comes the same way, but it will come and that precious sight can only be felt, if we are with the people who really see…

    Masha Allah!, May Allah take you places..

  3. Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog 🙂
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day 🙂

Leave a Reply

