Like a hawk stealing a bird..(Rumi!)

Assalamu Alaikum,

Note:Treat it as mail without address. This will make sense only to the intented recepient..

Let me know if you are the one!!

Few days back my friend was talking about the path of a salik. He said we can’t traverse that alone as the route is unknown to us. But once we get a guide, the guide take us through all the nuances which we can’t foresee or negotiate. All we need to be is to be open to a Shaikh. “Therefore”, he said,”our path, in effect, is from our nafs to our shaikh. Thereafter we start seeing things through the eyes of our Shaikh”.

That is the essence of the Sufi Path. But I asked,”It’s right that we cannot traverse alone. We will start journeying with Shaikh once reach our Shaikh. But then, how will one travel the path from his nafs to the Shaikh?”

My personal experience has been (and is) that they come down to our level and starts interacting just like us and lift us away. Or more precisely, like a kingfisher coming down to a pond and going up with a fish in it’s beaks.

And a while back , while going through our great forefather Rumi (R.A) , this poems was there to receive me first.

At the twilight, a moon appeared in the sky;

Then it landed on earth to look at me.

Like a hawk stealing a bird at the time of prey;

That moon stole me and rushed back into the sky.

I looked at myself, I did not see me anymore;

For in that moon, my body turned as fine as soul.

The nine spheres disappeared in that moon;

The ship of my existence drowned in that sea.

Love,

Abdul Muneer

4 Responses

  1. Salaam Dear Bhai:

    You are close to the mark. If your intention is to follow the path of love, Allah leads you to find a Shaikh, or the Shaikh to find you, when you are ready. Many have tried to walk the path without help, but they are led by their nafs and so fail. Only with Allah’s grace can one walk the path alone, and that is very rare.

    Ya Haqq!

  2. Va Alaikumussalam Irving bhai,
    Happy to know that you received my letter.
    “You are close to the mark”-I’m feeling it, in a profound way. How I wish to be on the mark..
    Your Duas requested..

  3. Salam,

    Brother Muneer, i have Rumi’s Divan in Farsi at home, and was wondering what page number or poem number you took this excerpt from. Send me an e-mail if you can, thanks!

Leave a Reply

